Liam Watts in 2019 Dream Team

Posted: Sunday 15th September 2019 - 12:00 PM

Following an outstanding season which saw Liam pick up three accolades at the club’s annual Player of the Year Awards Evening, he now features in the all-star team of players deemed to have been the best in their positions in 2019. Watts is one of nine debutants in the class of 2019 – the most since 2016.

This year’s Dream Team has been chosen by the Man of Steel panelists from a shortlist created by the season-long points-based system that will be used to select the 2019 Steve Prescott Man of Steel.

Super League CEO Robert Elstone said: “It’s a stellar line-up and a team that highlights many of our modern-day greats. 

"The Dream Team tells the story of the Super League season and this has perhaps been the best ever.

"We've seen the dominance of a brilliant St Helens, the emerging challenge from Salford Red Devils and a spread of talent from other clubs which has underlined the competitiveness and unpredictability of the league.

"Not surprisingly it has also got fans talking - and arguing - and with so many great options, it's made for some healthy debate. 

"Congratulations to all those selected. It's well-deserved."

Chairman of the Man of Steel panel, Ellery Hanley added: “Each and every one of these players is a credit to the 2019 Super League season.

“Their consistently high performances throughout the year backs up their credentials as worthy members of the Dream Team.

“As we head into the play-offs I’m sure some of these players will once again step up to dominate games for their sides and put them on the course for Old Trafford and the biggest night in Super League. Congratulations to them all.”

2019’s Super League Dream Team in full with heritage numbers:

1.     Lachlan Coote (177)
2.     Tommy Makinson (138)
3.     Kevin Naiqama (179)
4.     Konrad Hurrell (180)
5.     Ash Handley (178)
6.     Blake Austin (182)
7.     Jackson Hastings (181)
8.     Liam Watts (183)
9.     Daryl Clark (142)
10.  Luke Thompson (174)
11.  Josh Jones (184)
12.  Liam Farrell (150)
13.  Morgan Knowles (185)

Share this article: